Words That Change

Power & Beauty: a play

In Uncategorized on 30 November, 2011 at 15:09

Power & Beauty

…or…

The Failure Of So Many Good Intentions

by Simon Hodges

Creative Commons License
Power and Beauty: A Play by Simon Hodges is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at diaryofanunbornwriter.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at https://diaryofanunbornwriter.wordpress.com/about/.

Cast

Beauty – actor late 20s male/female – has flower in hair

Power – actor late 20s actor male/female – wears armour, has foppish fringe

Beauty and Power are standing onstage. Lines are expressed in continuous exchange. Power speaks first.

Hello Beauty

Hello Power

I want you

I want you as well

Then we should hang out

We should? We shall! I am coming for you tonight. Meet me at 6pm.

That is very daring. I am little swept away by it. It intrigues me in a Pride & Prejudice bosom-heaving way.

Thank you. I make a good Darcy. I am capable. And strong. And sensitive when I have to be. You can rest and be beautiful. I will protect you.

What do you want in return?

For you to be beautiful.

Is that all? Won’t you get tired?

No. I do not tire. I am strong.

You sure? I mean there are plenty of other things I can do. You’ll exhaust yourself. We can make an excellent team.

I agree. You look beautiful, I get stuff done.

I find that patronising.

You wouldn’t if you knew what’s good for you.

Exactly my point.

There’s no need to be smart, or make life difficult. Just lie back.

If I can’t live, I shrivel!

If you want me in command, you will relent.

If I relent you’ll overpower me. I need to be careful. I can’t trust you as I did.

You can.

I disagree.

OK. How about we talk about this over … a trip to Paris!! [he pulls tickets out of his sleeve] We leave at 9pm.

To keep me quiet I suppose?

No, to enjoy. Just come.

No.

Very well. Then I go.

FINE!!!

[Beauty walks to stage right] I feel so let down.

[Power walks to stage left] She turned down Paris !

THE END

Leave a Reply

